Skip to content

New Duplex, Yellowknife, NT

June 29, 2010

In July of 2007, a duplex in the Yellowknife area burned to the ground. It was of course a difficult time for the home owners and recouping the costs through insurance is always a tough process.

Vince Barter, M.Arch contacted me to develop this drawing set from the ground up and it was my first large scale residential job. Through out the design process sketches turned into permit drawings under my guidance and all structural drawings were drawn by myself under the direction of Phil Nolan, P.Eng.

During the construction of this duplex I was involved as a full time labour for framing, concrete & insulation. I got some great hands on practice while interpreting some details to the trades. This experience along with my past trades experience in Toronto helped me think about everything I put on paper and how it is read by a contractor.

No comments yet

Leave a comment